Things To Ask God For And Why-Part I- My Thoughts

About 25 years ago, I met two wonderful Christian ladies of no relations to me, which I know are resting in peace. I have always loved spending time with the elderly, and they demanded that I call them Mommie Dot and Grandma Mattie. They were mother and daughter in law and truly loved God and had the most loving and giving hearts. I thought of them when writing this because Mommie Dot told me in one of our conversations, “baby if you need to say a prayer for anyone that need God and doing wrong towards you, recite Psalms 51 and repeat the person’s name wherever it says “I” or “me” in the psalm.”  In ALL conversations with Grandma Mattie, she would have me read to her Psalm 61. She said “this prayer reminds me that I am in God’s hands at all times.”

It’s funny how you don’t realize things in the beginning or at a younger age the reason behind meeting special people or things they say to you. These women were not in the best of health, but when they talked about God, Jesus, and the Holy Spirit, there was a presence around them as if nothing was physically wrong with them. Neither of them ever complained about their health. I use to take them to their doctor’s appointments and ask about the outcome, and they both would say “I’m ok, it’s in God’s hand and whatever is his will, it will be done and I’m not going to complain.”

JESUS!  JESUS! Thank you Holy Spirit for this remembrance! I can’t explain it other than they KNEW without any doubt, they were covered by the blood of Jesus even with their illnesses. Mainly because of these two women, I believe the saying there’s a reason certain people are put in your life even if you realize it 25 years later. These two women taught me several things: God already knows our needs, He knows what we want, He knows what is going on in our lives, and lastly they taught me that prayer was for my benefit to prepare my heart and soul for what God wants to give me that is in my best interest to be in sync with His will and to ask for repentance and renewal.

Let’s read what Matthew said to prove my point. Matthew 6:33-34- “But seek ye the kingdom of God and His righteousness, and all these things shall be added to you.” “Therefore do not worry about tomorrow, for tomorrow will worry about its own things. Sufficient for the day is its own trouble.” How do we seek the kingdom? It’s simple….through faithful prayer; through total belief in God, Jesus, and the Holy Spirit; and being a doer and follower of His words.

For some reason these two ladies were on my mind this evening, bless and thank you Holy Spirit, and I began writing this blog and I dedicate it in their memory and as a reminder to self what I should faithfully ask God for.  Allow me to share my thoughts with you. The entire prayer should be prayed, however, I’ve picked out verses that need more attention to our well-being, mine and yours and the reason why using bible verses the Lord leads me to find as I type. I will try to complete this in two parts.  Please enjoy and receive a blessing from it.  🙂

Psalm 51

1 Have mercy upon me, O God, According to Your lovingkindness; According to the multitude of Your tender mercies, Blot out my transgressions.  2 Wash me thoroughly from my iniquity, And cleanse me from my sin.

Why

  • Matthew 7:21– “Not everyone who says to Me, Lord, Lord, shall enter the kingdom of heaven, but he who does the will of My Father in heaven.”
  • Matthew 5:7– “Blessed are the merciful, for they shall obtain mercy”
  • Romans 3:23- for all have sinned and fall short of the glory of God
  • Psalm 78:38-39- But He being full of compassion, forgave their iniquity, and did not destroy them. Yes, many a time He has turned His anger away, and did not stir up His wrath; for He remembered that they were but flesh, a breath that passes away and does not come again.
  • Titus 3:4-6- But when the kindness and love of God our Savior toward man appeared, not by works of righteousness which we have done, but according to His mercy He saved us, through the washing of regeneration and renewing of the Holy Spirit, who He poured out on us abundantly through Jesus Christ our Savior,

10 Create in me a clean heart, O God, And renew a steadfast spirit within me.

Why

  • 1 John 3:20-21- For if our heart condemns us, God is greater than our heart, and knows all things. Beloved, if our heart does not condemn us, we have confidence toward God.
  • Matthew 5:8- Blessed are the pure in heart, For they shall see God
  • Isaiah 1:16- “Wash yourselves, make yourselves clean; put away the evil of your doings before My eyes. Cease to do evil
  • Isaiah 1:18 -19- “Come now, and let us reason together” says the Lord. “Though your sins are like scarlet, They shall be white as snow; though they are red like crimson, they shall be as wool, If you are willing and obedient, you shall eat the good of the land.”
  • Isaiah 35:8- A highway shall be there, and a road, and it shall be called the Highway of Holiness. The unclean shall not pass over it, But it shall be for others. Whoever walks the road, though although a fool, shall not go astray.
  • Job 33:4- The Spirit of God has made me, and the breath of the Almighty has given me life.
  • Ezekiel 36:26- 27-“I will give you a new heart and put a new spirit within you; I will take the heart of stone out of your flesh and give you a heart of flesh. I will put My Spirit within you and cause you to walk in My statutes, and you will keep My judgments and do them.”

11 Do not cast me away from Your presence, And do not take Your Holy Spirit from me.

Why

  • 1 Samuel 16:14- But the Spirit of the Lord departed from Saul, and a distressing spirit from the Lord troubled him. (note- of the Lord and from the Lord concerning this verse in Samuel- you see that ..Hallelujuah!)
  • 1 Samuel 16:23- And so it was, whenever the spirit from God was upon Saul, that David would take a harp and play it with his hand. Then Saul would become refreshed and well, and the distressing spirit would part from him.
  • John 14:26- “But the Helper, the Holy Spirit whom the Father will send in My name, He will teach you all things, and bring to your remembrance all things that I said to you.”
  • Romans 8:9- But you are not in the flesh but in the Spirit, if indeed the Spirit of God dwells in you. Now if anyone does not have the Spirit of Christ, he is not His.
  • Romans 8:11- But if the Spirit of Him who raised Jesus from the dead dwells in you, He who raised Christ from the dead will also give life to your mortal bodies through His Spirit who dwells in you.

12 Restore to me the joy of Your salvation, And uphold me by Your generous Spirit.

Why

  • Hebrews 6:4-6- For it is impossible for those who were once enlightened, and  to have tasted the heavenly gift, and have become partakers of the Holy Spirit, and have tasted the good word of God and the powers of the age to come, if they fall away, to renew them again to repentance, since they crucify again for themselves the Son of God, and put Him to an open shame.
  • 1 John 3:24- Now he who keeps His commandments abides in Him, and He in him, and by this we know that He abides in us , by the Spirit whom He has given us.
  • Acts 4:12- “Nor is their salvation in any other, for there is no other name under heaven given among men by which we must be saved.”
  • Joel 2:32- And it shall come to pass, that whoever shall call on the name of the Lord shall be delivered: for in Mount Zion and in Jerusalem shall be deliverance, and the Lord haith said, and in the remnant who the Lord shall call.
  • Romans 8:16- The Spirit Himself bears witness with our spirit that we are children of God

 

Love Covers  A Multitude of Sins

