Quotes About Humility :-)

Allow me to share the word of the song with you, so you can sing along with me or on your own.  Absolutely no singing off key, sing with the Spirit, ok? Let’s go! Ah 1, 2, and a 3…Hit it!

There is a Name I love to hear, I love to sing its worth; It sounds like music in my ear, The sweetest Name on earth. It tells me of a Savior’s love, Who died to set me free; It tells me of His precious blood, The sinner’s perfect plea.

  • Refrain: Oh, how I love Jesus, Oh, how I love Jesus, Oh, how I love Jesus, Because He first loved me!

It tells me of a Father’s smile Beaming upon His child; It cheers me through this little while, Through desert, waste, and wild.

It tells me what my Father hath In store for every day, And though I tread a darksome path, Yields sunshine all the way.

It tells of One whose loving heart Can feel my deepest woe; Who in each sorrow bears a part That none can bear below.

It bids my trembling heart rejoice; It dries each rising tear; It tells me, in a “still small voice,” To trust and never fear.

Jesus, the Name I love so well, The Name I love to hear: No saint on earth its worth can tell, No heart conceive how dear.

This Name shall shed its fragrance still Along this thorny road, Shall sweetly smooth the rugged hill That leads me up to God.

And there with all the blood-bought throng, From sin and sorrow free, I’ll sing the new eternal song Of Jesus’ love for me.

*********JESUS LOVES YOU**********

Now if I could just whip others into the stage….LOL  😛  😛   Enjoy the quotes below, and pay close attention to the blessing for you at the end.

If you are right, take the humble side — you will help the other fellow. If you are wrong, take the humble side — and you will help yourself.-Anonymous

“To become truly great, one has to stand with people, not above them.”- Charles de Montesquieu

“You know more than you think you know, just as you know less than you want to know.” – Oscar Wilde

In the words of Hogan’s Heroes Sargent Shultz– “I know nothing, nothing”

“I claim to be a simple individual liable to err like any other fellow mortal. I own, however, that I have humility enough to confess my errors and to retrace my steps.” – Mahatma Ghandi

“Humility is like underwear, essential, but indecent if it shows” – Helen Nielson

“What makes humility so desirable is the marvelous thing it does to us; it creates in us a capacity for the closest possible intimacy with God” – Monica Baldwin

“The more you lose yourself in something bigger than yourself, the more energy you will have.”

“Resentment or grudges do no harm to the person against whom you hold these feelings but every day and every night of your life, they are eating at you”

Norman Vincent Peale

“If I have seen further than others, it is by standing upon the shoulders of giants.” – Isaac Newton

“We come nearest to the great when we are great in humility.” – Rabindranath Tagore (Indian Poet)

“Humility is the foundation of all the other virtues hence, in the soul in which this virtue does not exist there cannot be any other virtue except in mere appearance.” –  Saint Augustine

“Humility makes great men twice honorable” –  Benjamin Franklin

“Humility is to make a right estimate of one’s self.” – Charles H. Spurgeon

“Pride makes us artificial and humility makes us real” –Thomas Merton

“A man who is at the top is a man who has the habit of getting to the bottom.”-Joseph E. Rogers

“Humility leads to strength and not to weakness. It is the highest form of self-respect to admit mistakes and to make amends for them.”-John (Jay) Mccloyurroughs

“Humility like the darkness, reveals the heavenly lights.”-Henry David Thoreau

“I confess that altruistic and cynically selfish talk seem to me about equally unreal. With all humility, I think whatsoever thy hand findeth to do, do it with thy might, infinitely more important than the vain attempt to love one’s neighbor as one’s self. If you want to hit a bird on the wing you must have all your will in focus, you must not be thinking about yourself, and equally, you must not be thinking about your neighbor; you must be living with your eye on that bird. Every achievement is a bird on the wing.”- Oliver Wendell Holmes Jr.

And Now Our Bible Verses On Humility 🙂

JOB 22:29 When men are brought low and you say, ‘Lift them up!’ then he  will save the downcast.

Psalm 138:6 Though the LORD is on high, he looks upon the lowly, but the proud  he knows from afar.

Proverbs 16:18 Pride goeth before destruction, and a haughty spirit before a fall.

Proverbs 10:8 The wise in heart accept commands, but a chattering fool comes to ruin.

Proverbs 15:33 The fear of the LORD teaches a man wisdom, and humility comes before honor.

Proverbs 22:4  Humility and the fear of the LORD bring wealth and honor and life.

Ecclesiastes 5:2  Do not be quick with your mouth, do not be hasty in your heart to utter anything before God. God is in heaven and you are on earth, so let your words be few.

Isaiah 29:19 Once more the humble will rejoice in the LORD; the needy will rejoice in the Holy One of Israel.

Isaiah 51:1″Listen to me, you who pursue righteousness and who seek the LORD: Look to the rock from which you were cut and to the quarry from which you were hewn; (AMEN ,AMEN, and AMEN….This works as long as you know the ROCK!)

Ezekiel 16:63 “Then, when I make atonement for you for all you have done, you will remember and be ashamed and never again open your mouth because of your humiliation, declares the Sovereign LORD.”

Matthew 11:29-30 Take my yoke upon you and learn from me, for I am gentle and humble  in heart, and you will find rest for your souls. “For my yoke is easy and my burden is light.”  Hallelujah!!!!!

Luke 1:52 He has brought down rulers from their thrones but has lifted up the humble.

John 13:14 Now that I, your Lord and Teacher, have washed your feet, you also should wash one another’s feet. (Now this is real  act of HUMILITY…wouldn’t you have loved Jesus’ hands to just touch you, much less wash your feet.  Our God is NOT just “An awesome God”.  He is ‘The Awesome God’)

1 Corinthians 3:18– Do not deceive yourselves. If any one of you thinks he is wise by the standards of this age, he should become a “fool” so that he may become wise.

*****************************************************************************************

Most importantly my lovely ones, let us keep this in mind, on the heart, and put into action at all times:

Philippians 2 Verses 1-11  Imitating Christ’s Humility

 Therefore if you have any encouragement from being united with Christ, if any comfort from his love, if any common sharing in the Spirit, if any tenderness and compassion,  then make my joy complete by being like-minded, having the same love, being one in spirit and of one mind.  Do nothing out of selfish ambition or vain conceit. Rather, in humility value others above yourselves,  not looking to your own interests but each of you to the interests of the others.  In your relationships with one another, have the same mindset as Christ Jesus:  Who, being in very nature God,  did not consider equality with God something to be used to his own advantage;  rather, he made himself nothing  by taking the very  nature of a servant,  being made in human likeness.  And being found in appearance as a man, he humbled himself by becoming obedient to death— even death on a cross! Therefore God exalted him to the highest place and gave him the name that is above every name, that at the name of Jesus every knee should bow,  in heaven and on earth and under the earth, and every tongue acknowledge that Jesus Christ is Lord, to the glory of God the Father.

 

Love Covers A Multitude Of Sins

I’m Covered…Are you?  🙂

Thank you Holy Spirit For This Post!!!!!!!

                                              

3 comments on “Quotes About Humility :-)

  1. Oh my goodness how you have stirred up my spirit with the song and your generous words inspired by the Holy Spirit to share with us all! Praises be unto The Lord Almighty!

    I am thankful that you stopped by my blog page as I have now encountered another sister in The Lord that I can get to know through this site! God bless you, your servants heart to step out of the way of yourself so that The Lord can use you for His glory!

    Much love to you in abundance. May the hand of the Most High cover and keep you, guide you, protect you, anoint you from the crown of your head to the soles of your feet and bring an everlasting harvest of the fruit of the Spirit into your life to share and testify to others.

    In Christ be blessed always,

    Terra

    Like

    • Thank you Terra for this lovely prayer blessing. Thank you Holy Spirit! I’m so thankful that the Holy Spirit allowed me to stir up your spirit. Isn’t it a great feeling, knowing Jesus resides in our heart even if we have a small glitch? Glory Glory!!!!! Feel free to email me at any time. Thanks so much for visiting this blog. I’ve been blessed even more by your comments. Prayerfully, I’ll see you in the Holy City. For now, I’ll be following your blog. 😛

      May the Lord always watch over and bless you and your family.
      Shelia

      Like

Comments are closed.