Lord’s Prayer- Learning In French

 

I had a flashback to my 11th grade French class this morning, while preparing The Lord’s Prayer for my grandkids to memorize.  You know the class where you get a great exercise workout for the mouth.  🙂 I told my grandkids that can read that I wanted them to learn The 23rd Psalm, Lord’s Prayer, Ten Commandments, Beatitudes, and The Golden Rule.  I want to encourage all grandparents out there to teach these to your grandkids.  It will leave a lasting impression.  My Papaw thought them to me as a child and though I have not lived accordingly, however I continue to work on being more like Christ. 

So much for Memorial Day! I remember the time that my Papaw took out to teach me things in the bible to this very day, which has help me become the faith-based person that I am. I know storms are going to come and I need to remember in my weak temporary moments to Stand In Jesus’ name against them all so that I too may overcome.

So I am making 5 little booklets that includes the above scriptures in English and in French. I’ll have to make 4 more  in about 2 years for the other ones to learn and read.  I ‘ve always found it exciting to learn different languages. I came across the prayer in French.  Here’s some shareware from http://www.lords-prayer-words.com/ Enjoy My Beloved!

“Notre Père”

Notre Père, qui es aux cieux,
 Que ton nom soit sanctifié,
 Que ton règne vienne,
 Que ta volonté soit faite sur la terre comme au ciel.

Donne-nous aujourd’hui notre pain de ce jour.
 Pardonne-nous nos offences
 Comme nous pardonnons aussi à ceux qui nous ont offensés.
 Et ne nous soumets pas à la tentation,
 mais délivre-nous du mal,
 car c’est à toi qu’appartiennent le règne,
 la puissance et la gloire, aux siècles des siècles.
Amen.

 

‘Je t’aime’ (zhuh tem – I Love You)

Avant tout, ayez les uns pour les autres une ardente charité, car La charité couvre une multitude de péchés. (1 Peter 4:8)

 

 

 

 

2 comments on “Lord’s Prayer- Learning In French

  1. I don’t know French but it is interesting to note that almost if not in all languages of this world “Amen” is “Amen.” Any way, the initiative of teaching grand-kids passages of Scripture is very commendable. Please keep it up.

    Like

  2. It is a wonderful thing to see that you are handing down the Word to your grandkids. It is so greatly needed in our world today. May the Lord bless your faithfulness by bringing your descendants to salvation and a greater understanding of God’s Word. Lord bless you for your faithfulness. Well done.

    Like

Comments are closed.