Simplicity- A Child’s Joy In The Lord

Great Wednesday morning to you beautiful people. On yesterday, I learned from my daughter in-law that my grandsons, Emanuel and Elijah have told everyone that they come in contact with about an event that took place recently in their lives. About two weeks ago, I took them with me to help serve at one of the nearby homeless shelters.

They are too young to help with serving plates, so I told them they would have to wash off the tables after the people finished eating. On the way there, I was telling them about the homeless people and how God makes a way for all to be fed and taken care of.  I was telling them , that at a moment’s notice, anyone could become homeless because of circumstances, even me. Emanuel said, “but Grandma, you can come live with us and we’ll take care of you. You can sleep in our room with us.” I laughed, and said, but I don’t want to look at y’all everyday getting on my nerves.  Elijah said, “we promise we will be quiet if you live with us.” SILENCE.   I asked them if they would give away their shoes and clothes if a homeless child needed them. Guess what they said? “Sure, then you will get us some more.” Ha ha!

So the simplicity in the matter that gave my heart joy on yesterday. I knew they probably told family members. I was made aware on yesterday, that they were telling their parents friends and others when out and about. “Everyone”
“Our grandma took us with her to serve the homeless. We washed tables after they finished eating and it was fun. We are going to go again, it is fun helping the homeless.”
Talk about spreading the good news. My GRAND GIFTS were on it! Plus, you know kids love to play in water. Water is a great source/tool to use in teaching them to clean up.
I was thinking if a child finds such joy in doing the Lord’s work, washing tables down for the homeless, how is it we as adults, sometimes find serving others not so joyful?
“Fun”……such a blessed word when coming from a child.  Let us find “Fun” in serving the Lord.
God commands us to serve, does He not? Their laboring, i.e. “fun” work brought to mind the following scriptures:

1 Corinthians 15:58

Therefore, my beloved brethren, be ye stedfast, unmoveable, always abounding in the work of the Lord, forasmuch as ye know that your labour is not in vain in the Lord.

Proverbs 22:6

Train up a child in the way he should go: and when he is old, he will not depart from it.

1 Timothy 6:18-19

Command them to do good, to be rich in good deeds, and to be generous and willing to share. In this way they will lay up treasure for themselves as a firm foundation for the coming age, so that they may take hold of the life that is truly life.

I LOVE YOU

LOVE COVERS A MULTITUDE OF SINS

3 comments on “Simplicity- A Child’s Joy In The Lord

Comments are closed.