Are You Conscientious About the Presence Of God in Your Life?

Please read Exodus 32- 34. I’ve been studying the Books of Exodus and Genesis once again over the last month or so. I had and still have so many questions proliferating within my cranium and heart. I’m positive that when God is ready to reveal more to me, He will in His time. He loves talking to me and I love talking with Him. His strong suit is dealing with the hard headed, talkative, and inquisitive ones. Lately, He has been revealing a lot to me about people wearing veils in His presence.

As a child I use to envy the people in the bible who were in God’s presence and those who spoke directly with him. I did not understand how or why people would behave so badly by worshipping other gods or possessing a less than righteous behavior when they knew God was right there, like next door, face to face, back to face, etc.  He was there in the Garden of Eden speaking directly to and with Adam, Eve, and the Serpent. He spoke to and with Cain, Noah, Abram, Job, Moses, to name a few. Even Enoch “walked with God.”  

Judging from the biblical events I’ve read, I’ve concluded two things about God’s Presence. Some of the beings in the bible were somewhat conscientious and some were wholly conscientious about His presence in their lives. And yet…the majority of beings were not perfect but found ______ in His sight. (Fill in the blank)

In Genesis 4:26, it says that Seth (the appointed seed instead of Abel, who Cain slew-vs.25), to him was born a son named Enos and it was at this time “then began men to call upon the name of the Lord.” (AKJV) Truly amazing!  Let’s call!

Here is where we skedaddle on to Exodus 33: 1-22. No Veils Allowed!   First some key pointers and definitions:

  • With – used as a function word to indicate a participant in an action, transaction, or arrangement; in opposition to.
  • God told Moses to “Depart, and go up hence”(away; from this place) Notice how he said it twice using different words…(Get= go up; Skeedaddle= depart)   😛
  • God told Moses that He would not be in their “midst” (the interior or central part of a point) because “thou are a stiffnecked people.”
  • The stiffneckers believed God’s message via Moses to them to be “evil tidings.”(news) They mourned.
  • Consume- to do away with completely; destroy
  • Dung- Used as manure (Luke 13:8); collected outside the city walls (Nehemiah 2:13). Of sacrifices, burned outside the camp (Exodus 29:14; Leviticus 4:11; 8:17; Numbers 19:5). To be “cast out as dung,” a figurative expression (1 Kings 14:10; 2 Kings 9:37; Jeremiah 8:2; Psalms 18:42), meaning to be rejected as unprofitable. Note- you’ll understand why this was used below.- Courtesy of Easton’s Bible Dictionary

I love Moses, for he pleaded his case for his people to God. He reminds God, that these are His people too.  I also love it when God is direct and communicates effectively.  What would you do if God told you to depart? What would you do knowing He is waiting to make a decision based on your “stiffnecked” behaviors? How would you feel if He told you that He would not be in your presence or “midst”?  How would you feel if He told you, ok, I’ve definitely decided I am going to “consume thee”?

It seemed that God had become fed up with the Israelites and their she-nanigans and he-nanigans, and decided to just send them on their way, while keeping His promise to Abraham. 

People have forgotten how to communicate with each other to eliminate division amongst the body of Christ and to eliminate the stench of ignorance floating around in homes, businesses, and churches. I have learned from my inquiries and from an observance of everyday life, we as people and as Christians are lacking more and more in patience and communication with each other. We have begun to ignore each other more because of feelings, one tracked minds and hearsay. 

Who are we?  A “stiffnecked people” who quite often forget whose presence we are in which is why we behave the way we do WITH one another.  We can’t seem to talk to each other one on one anymore. That allows 1 of the top 5 sins from my List to grow and cause more division among us on our jobs with co-workers, in church with our members who claim to be on one accord with Christ, and in our homes with family, we so dearly claim to love. I have penned it as Micro-Managed Gossip or MMC if you prefer.  

Personally I don’t have a problem with any person approaching me if they have an issue with me, for I realize I am not perfect but in the works of being about my Father God’s business. I am not easily hurt by any person’s words or thoughts.  Let me tell you beloved, when you keep going through fires, being tested and overcome test after test, you are on a whole other level that people not in His presence don’t understand. Job’s friends didn’t understand him. Thank you Holy Spirit!

FACT- Unless one is reprimanded and convicted by the Spirit of God, one does not really pay attention to being in His presence.

If I am correct in my study, after being reprimanded by God, the Israelites temporarily paid attention to His presence. Throughout the bible, they were a backsliding people, forgetting whose presence they were in, until warned again and again.  Well, hit me with a hammer! Isn’t this the same thing we do to this very day? Exodus 33:7… And it came to pass, that every one which sought the Lord went out unto the tabernacle of the congregation. Before this, what were they doing? You guessed it! They were line dancing, boot scooting, and worshipping false gods all the while, while in His camp.

We need to be more aware of our presence with others mainly in a body of Christ setting or within His camp.  Ask self…How can I put and keep myself in God’s presence?  What does it take for me as an individual to be conscientious about the presence of God in my life? Do I realize I am in God’s presence when I avoid speaking to or greeting others while in His house, aka church, at work, or with family?

The Ashtoreth poles, i.e. some individuals, need to be removed from church pews and pulpits. A limbless tree trunk without roots have no use but of that to be burned to ashes. Of all places, nowadays, with so many claiming to be Christians, the devil should not have to be rebuked inside the church. I guess he will get in where he feels he can fit in though. His days are definitely numbered.  “Dung” belongs outside of the church, not inside.

In the bible “dung” is referred to as being unclean, evil, falsity, a nakedness fully clothed and styled with a stench…you know….NOT CHRISTLIKE.

The spiritual gift of seeing through others is a beautiful gift when you know you have planks as well being removed.

Spend time with God alone and just focus on Him. Do as the Israelites did. Seek Him. You are not perfect. You’ll stumble quite often, but you have to get back up and go hence. Beloved, find out what will distinguish you “as His people from all the other people on the face of the earth?”- (Ex 33:16) He will bring Himself into your presence. I know this to be so true, along with some witnesses.

  • Be very aware that God knows you by name out of zillions of names.
  • Be very aware that it is God who finds the ultimate grace in His sight, not men, friends or foes.
  • If you are chosen to do His will, ask God to show you His ways, so that you too may “know thee” and partake of His glory.
  • Ask God for forgiveness, plead your case before Him, not just for you but for others so that you all will find grace in His sight and know it.
  • Be determined, be prepared, and be expecting God to do something. This, in my opinion is called having FAITH.

Moses was determined to move God’s people from bondage. He prepared himself with the help of God to do God’s will.  He expected God to do something, when they came to the Red Sea; when they were left wandering for 40 years; when he came face to face with God. Go ahead and SHOUT!  Expecting God to do something?…PAUSE…. Ok, that’ enough shouting Hallelujahs! After all, He did decide and told Moses. “My presence shall go with thee and I will give thee rest.”

Moses asked Him to show him His Glory. God did, did He not?

Ask Him to show you His Glory. He will. He will communicate with you one on one. If your heart is not hardened, it will help you communicate better with others and help you be more about our Father God’s business and status instead of your own business and status.

Let’s close it. I am very conscientious about His presence in my life and how He has placed others in my presence this past year…definitely these past three months. Others…that believe in Him who are relying on His promise that we will on one day be glorified and be face to face with Him. But first, beloved you should practice being more conscientious about His presence.

As of this moment, are you conscientious about His presence being in your work life, in your church, and in your home? If not, remember what He told Moses (Exodus 34:20)…. “And none shall appear before me empty.” Remove the veil when you are in His presence.

 

LOVE COVERS A MULTITUDE OF SINS

2 comments on “Are You Conscientious About the Presence Of God in Your Life?

  1. Pingback: Unselfishness | Quality of Life Ministries

Comments are closed.