At One’s Wits’ End? “Seek the Lord and Live.” Amos 5-6

A Dictionary Moment
At one’s wits’ end- to be very worried or upset because you have tried every possible way to solve a problem but cannot do it; at the end of one’s ideas or mental resources; perplexed; utterly confused

Most are familiar with the idiom. Dare I say that most of us have been at our wits’ end? With God as your RESOURCE, you will never be at wits’ end. Let’s take a journey.

Continuing on this Lent journey through the book of Amos I was a bit confused of the message received. I prayed before the study and was ready to hear what words the Lord had for ME. This is MY journey, my heart rending time. But the Spirit of God put someone else on my heart and mind. I asked not why. I was reminded once again that I am not God; I cannot do everything for everyone and that the choices and mistakes that others make are not my boundaries. I hear you Lord. I finally HEAR you I shouted out. I’m not sure if this can be labeled as a lesson learned for me, therefore I’ll just pass on the message received.
The reason most of humanity end up at one’s wits’ end is due in part to a lack of individual preparation and complacency. Yep! C-o-m-p-l-a-c-e-n-c-y!
As you may recall, in Amos 4:12, God warns the house of Israel to “prepare to meet thy God.”
I’ve noticed that when one is at one’s wits’ end, it happens when one is NOT hearing the advice of others that are very close to them. One is stuck in the moment(s) of their doings and fails to recognize crouching sin. Remember what God said to Cain (Genesis 4:6-7) “…sin is crouching at your door; it desires to have you, but you must rule over it.”  How many times has God said “Hear” in the Holy Bible? How many times has God said to you “Hear”?  Catch these my sweethearts!!!!!  Did you hear (syn. – perceive, receive, get) or did you listen (syn.-eavesdrop, snoop, attend)? ((((((TYHS))))))
So then I ask God, while reading Amos 5 and 6, what do you do when you know someone very dear to you is at their wits’ end? What do you do when you are so spiritually bonded to them, feeling and knowing their every ache without them saying a word? What do you do Lord, please tell me, when they are so broken, words and deeds of others go unnoticed by them? What do you do when that person feels like they have been a burden on those who help them? ((((((JESUS)))))) I looked up from writing my questions down and in the right hand corner of my closet, Tigger was staring at me.  I burst out with laughter.   Smiley


In the Winnie the Pooh stories, you know Tigger just bounces everywhere on his tail. Occasionally, you would see him walking through the 100 acre woods. Bouncing on his tail was his signature move. Bounce~~~ bounce~~~bounce!  In bounces the message from the Holy Spirit.

(Read Amos 6)

Yep! C-o-m-p-l-a-c-e-n-c-y! Tigger … a great messaging tool! (TYHS)
Dear readers, whatever situation you have fallen into or when you are at one’s wits’ end, hear this!

You

• Must Prepare yourself to meet thy God
• Must Seek Him and Live
• Must Rend your heart and Repent
• Must Reform self
• Must Put ALL Faith in God for His will to be done in your life

One cannot “HEAR this word” when the Lord is speaking, when one is always bouncing around like Tigger, or never standing still long enough on one’s own two feet to prepare one’s self to live as God intended. I tell ya! Lifesight (my new word) is nothing like hindsight.

 Here’s one of my favorite Tigger quotes.

“Excuse me a moment, but there’s something climbing up your table,” and with one loud Worraworraworraworraworra he jumped at the end of the tablecloth, pulled it to the ground, wrapped himself up in it three times, rolled to the other end of the room, and, after a terrible struggle, got his head into the daylight again, and said cheerfully: “Have I won?”

(With God, you can win, just say YES to Him)

Let this song minister to you- (parts 1 & 2) I love singing this song, very powerful.

