Fruit Canning & Sanctification – Amos 8

Amos 8:1-2

Thus hath the Lord God shewed unto me: and behold a basket of summer fruit. And he said, Amos, what seest thou? And I said, A basket of summer fruit. Then said the Lord unto me, The end is come upon my people of Israel; I will not again pass by them anymore.

Ripe – Fully developed; mature: fully prepared to do or undergo something; ready: sufficiently advanced; opportune:

Sanctification – the state of proper functioning; To sanctify someone or something is to set that person or thing apart for the use intended by its designer.

I had stopped by my mom’s to drop off some things earlier on this day during Lent. I had asked her why she doesn’t can food like grandma used to. She said “…here is a book if you want to do it, I don’t have time.” Talk about God working in mysterious ways. As I was studying Amos 8, I sat outside on my back porch from about 7 p.m. til a little past midnight listening to Jesus is Alive and Well, another oldie (http://youtu.be/3Z4CXLX_aGY)  When my kids were younger in those days, we all used to dance and praise the Lord in spirit on this song during praise break.

As I sat there, I reminisced about my childhood, watching my grandparent’s plant gardens and a group of grandkids helping pick vegetables from the earth and fruit from the trees and off the ground. I love how God can take you back to times in your life. Times that are so clear as if it is happening at that moment. I could still smell the aroma of dirt, trees, and ripe fruit and hear my granddaddy yelling at me as I was telling jokes and not working. Lord, have mercy! Thank you Jesus!

After this session with the Lord, I’ve become interested in canning and freezing items for the winter. Maybe I’m interested in canning some things in life that need to be put on the shelf never to be taken down again??? Something we should all perhaps consider when going through a transformation.

I remember the sweet and earthy smells coming from Grandma’s kitchen and helping her put items in the pantry. She would keep one to two jars out for us after canning, but the other jars didn’t come off the pantry shelf until winter was approaching. Can’t you just smell the aroma of peach, apple, and grape jams? Oh my God, and the essence of preserved figs. OK, now we have all gained 5 pounds just thinking about it. This too, is why I am an old country gal at heart and have no doubt about who I am to God.

According to my present received from my mom earlier, Circular HE-01 Food Preservation in Alabama, canning is the process of sterilizing and sealing foods in airtight containers to preserve them. It is a good economical way to keep foods so that they may be used in seasons when not available fresh. For canning purposes, foods are divided into two groups: acid and low-acid. The amount of acid in a food determines how it is to be processed. (TYHS- this is your shouting moment) Also note, that high acid content boiling temp should be 212 °F and 240 °F for low acid content to destroy bacteria in food.

In Amos 8:1-2, I was reminded that summer is the time fruit, as you know IS at its ripest. There is a mystery hidden in this verse for all Christians to know. May the Spirit reveal to you as He revealed to me what it is.

The Holy Spirit was sent to us as what?(Johns 14:26) His fruits dwell within us. Here are the questions that the Spirit laid on my heart and mind to share with you my loves concerning the process of fruit canning and sanctification. I remind you that you must let the Spirit speak to you the reason for the referenced verses as He did me. I can assure you that He Speaks when you Rend Your Heart to God.

  1. Are you at a stage in your life that you know that you are or will be fully prepared for the Lord’s return?( Romans 9:21-23)
  2. Have you settled any current or past issues with others, or have you just put them on a shelf to be resurrected or settled at a later date? (1 Peter 3:15;James 3:9-10)
  3. Is the time ripe for you to make changes in your life to be in alignment with God’s will? (Numbers 20:12)

The Message– Take a look at the news headlines and events surrounding the four corners of this earth. The season is upon us to choose this very day, this very second, whom we will serve. The time is coming that the Lord will tell some of us that we are no longer an economical way. He will “not pass by” some of us anymore. He will have reached His boiling point and will destroy those who are not in the book of life. (Rev 20:15) Get your canning skills in check and preserve what is in line with the Lord’s will. Sanctify yourselves as the Lord has told many before us, by living according to God’s purpose for your life. When you fall down, keep getting up until you are standing solely on the Word of God and His promises. Sanctification is indeed a deeper boiling stage used by God. It is His way of pruning out impurities through His fruit canning, i.e. transformation process. (TYHS) You are made in His image. In the beginning God created me and you. Determine your amount of acid so that you know how it needs to be processed to be in line with the Lords’ will. Get to know your Designer. Be thankful of what the Lord let other’s do for you in His name.

Here’s the prayer that I prayed after reading Amos 8 that I will share with you, my beloved readers. Yes, I write everything down, so that I don’t forget. And now you won’t forget either. 😛

Father, have mercy on me. Begin in me the sanctification process. I am a sinner. I am your child. Reveal to me what your will in my life is. Show me the ripened fruit in my life that is approaching its rotting stage. If I am controlling or micromanaging, being judgmental towards others in the body of Christ, or possessing any other unfruitful behavior, deal with me in your way. Set me apart from those who think they know it all, are non- communicative, and are self-centered. Transform and preserve me in an airtight container so that evil can’t break the seal. Preserve me so that I may be among those that you do pass by again. I love you Lord. Lord, have mercy on me in the powerful name of Jesus Christ, my Savior. Thank you for this lesson about Amos which you have shared with me to share with others. Amen.

I Love You

Quotes

Deuteronomy 8:3 – And he humbled thee, and suffered thee to hunger, and fed thee with manna, which thou knewest not, neither did thy fathers know; that he might make thee know that man doth not live by bread only, but by every [word] that proceedeth out of the mouth of the LORD doth man live.

“Think how nature makes things compared to how we humans make things.” We talked about how animals don’t just preserve the next generation; they typically preserve the environment for the ten-thousandth generation. While human industrial processes can produce Kevlar, it takes a temperature of thousands of degrees to do it, and the fiber is pulled through sulfuric acid. In contrast, a spider makes its silk – which per gram is several times stronger than steel – at room temperature in water.”
William Powers

“The first law of nature is self-preservation. Cut off that which may harm you. But if it is worth preserving, and is meaningful, nourish it and have no regrets. Ultimately, this is true living and love of self…from within.”
T.F. Hodge  

4 comments on “Fruit Canning & Sanctification – Amos 8

  1. Thanks for your exposition on Amos. Your analogy with canning and fruit preservation is quite timely, and clearly not accidental. As is often repeated in both the Old and New Testaments, those who have eyes to see let them see. I am also reminded of the appropriateness of the portion of Proverbs 15:23…which concludes …and a word spoken in due season, how good is it! God is providing for us. We are blessed to have you among us. Thank you, again, dear friend.

    Liked by 1 person

Comments are closed.