Achilles’ Hill * A Thought of Encouragement for You

This great morning I was reading Isaiah. The word hills was mentioned a lot. The Spirit laid on my heart “weakness”, which  led to this blog. From quick research gathered, “hills” are mentioned more time in Isaiah than any other book in the bible with an exception to the book of Psalms. That David sure KNEW about “hills”. Remember, he had to hide from Saul in a cave built within the hills. (1 Samuel) I think Bathsheba aka Bat Sheva (Hebrew) was his most familiar Achilles’ heel.

Achilles’ Heel– n: a fault or weakness that causes or could cause someone or something to fail.(Courtesy of Merriam Webster)

Achilles’ Hill– n: a hill that blocks the Believer’s view of God’s will that causes or could cause the Believer to remain dead in faith, become weak, and to fail.(Courtesy of Shelia)

The Myth (Courtesy of WikiAnswers)

An Achilles heel is a deadly weakness in spite of overall strength, which can actually or potentially lead to downfall. While the mythological origin refers to a physical vulnerability, idiomatic references to other attributes or qualities that can lead to downfall are common.

In Greek mythology, when Achilles was a baby, it was foretold that he would die young. To prevent his death, his mother Thetis took Achilles to the River Styx, which was supposed to offer powers of invulnerability, and dipped his body into the water. But as Thetis held Achilles by the heel, his heel was not washed over by the water of the magical river. Achilles grew up to be a man of war who survived many great battles. But one day, a poisonous arrow shot at him was lodged in his heel, killing him shortly after.

 The Human Body

Achilles’ Heel- The Achilles is the tendonous extension of 2 muscles in the lower leg: gastrocnemius, and soleus. In humans, the tendon passes posterior to the ankle. It is the thickest and strongest tendon in the body.  Bilateral Achilles tendon vibration in the absence of vision has a major impact on postural orientation. Vibration applied to the Achilles tendon is well known to induce in freely standing subjects a backward body displacement and in restrained subjects an illusory forward body tilt. The vibrations stimulate muscle spindles in the calf muscles. The muscle spindles alert the brain that the body is moving forward, so the central nervous system compensates by moving the body backwards.

*****************************************************************************************************

I have always loved reading Greek Mythology. In many ways akin to the myth of Achilles, as Believers, we are a people who have fought many battles and won by the Grace of God. We have all had our weak moments in spite of our strength. One difference, when we become Believer’s baptized in the name of Jesus, we are spiritually dipped in the Blood of Jesus, head to heel and not in the River Styx. (TYHS) 

What amazes me is that our Achilles’ Heel is the thickest and strongest tendon in the body and it communicates with the brain(paraphrase). It is also a very vulnerable part of the human body. When injured , it can make one experience a great deal of weakness for  some time. Per research, the Achilles’ Heel if injured can take up to 12-16 months to heal.  It takes some of us longer than that to set foot at the bottom of our Achilles’ Hill. Some of us get too comfortable being inside of a cavity(cave) in the hill, beside and beneath the hill. We need to put into effect the Hokey Pokey dance and dance our way up and over our hill. You know …put your right foot in…. http://youtu.be/QfPg_GzC-HA

When I first purchased the lot to have my house built, it was flat as a pancake. To my surprise, when the builders begin building and when my house was completed, my house was sitting on a small hill with one STEEP side on the east side. My first thought was how am I going to mow the hill and where am I going to put a privacy fence. I immediately headed to Lowe’s and purchased thirty evergreen trees to plant on the sides and back. I dug the holes and planted them by myself thinking that would save me from mowing that side of the yard. It did give me a natural privacy fence. Well, this old farm gal was wrong for once…and forestry is supposed to be in my blood.  Obviously, I didn’t listen attentively to my Pawpaw and dad when they would talk to me about planting trees.

My Hillside

After many episodes of pulled leg muscles and twisting of right ankle, one fall rolling down the hill, and one foot just froze while the lawn mower rolled down the hill, I can say that I have had a fun learning experience with a small hill. Clumsy hard-headed me.  😦 Pray. Some of us have larger hills in life that need weed eating, climbing to cut back the grass, or just plain removed. 

Here’s something for you to ponder beloved…If we were like Jack and Jill, (http://youtu.be/lsbFIYSK26E) and the hill was the ONLY place for us to get water, how hard would we try to climb that hill to get to that water?  BTW, vinegar and brown paper does help with a headache.  

Let us not suffer from Bilateral Achilles tendon vibration. Those who suffer from an Achilles’ Hill syndrome in life, must remember what “The Lord, The Lord God” has spoken about hills:

Isaiah 54:10 For the mountains shall depart, and the hills be removed; but my kindness shall not depart from thee, neither shall the covenant of my peace be removed,

saith the LORD that hath mercy on thee.

Isaiah 55:12 For ye shall go out with joy, and be led forth with peace: the mountains and the

hills shall break forth before you into singing, and all the trees of the field shall clap their hands.

I encourage you and myself to meditate on Psalm 121 as

a reminder of where help comes from for any Achilles’ Hill we are finding difficulty in climbing.

I will lift up mine eyes unto the hills, from whence cometh my help. My help cometh from the Lord, which made heaven and earth.  He will not suffer thy foot to be moved: he that keepeth thee will not slumber.  Behold, he that keepeth Israel shall neither slumber nor sleep.  The Lord is thy keeper: the Lord is thy shade upon thy right hand.  The sun shall not smite thee by day, nor the moon by night.  The Lord shall preserve thee from all evil: he shall preserve thy soul.  The Lord shall preserve thy going out and thy coming in from this time forth, and even for evermore.

I LOVE YOU

