My Journey through Romans 7

 

The Law of The Mind     Romans 7

I became excited about this travel through Romans 7 after reading and rereading all of its verses. It is a very revealing and edifying chapter about the mind. I found in verse 21 something so true for many a Believers, some will admit it and some will not: “I find then a law, that, when I would do good, evil is present with me.”  Let’s say it out loud together three times. I find then a law, that, when I would do good, evil is present with me. I find then a law, that, when I would do good, evil is present with me. I find then a law, that, when I would do good, evil is present with me.  And that my friend is the law of the mind.

mind-free-2From the pulpit to the pews, from the pillar to the post, the law of the mind is what all humans deal with. It doesn’t matter what the sin because SIN is SIN. There is no apples to oranges comparison in the Lord’s eyes, and we can look at the biography of the writer of this book to know that. (TYHS)

Now ask self, how often do I wrestle with that law? Is it safe to say that the Believer wrestles daily or once a year with that law? Even if one is unable to answer these questions, one surely knows that sin will be ever present and crouching at our door until the Lord’s second return. And it is the mind that jumps starts how we handle sin every time its head is reared. If sin were to be put on the calendar like Halloween, Christmas, Easter, Memorial Day and the Fourth of July, we’d be expecting it a certain time every year, right? Then in our minds, we’d know how to prepare for it as we do other holidays or special days like birthdays and anniversaries. However that’s just not the case, sin occurs daily on the calendar in the lives of many Believers and others for the bible tells us so.

Side Thought- I wonder why is it that sin never gets tired of crouching?

Now, let us understand what the mind is. Many know the meaning of a lot of things and words, but rarely think about meanings on a spiritual level until the Holy Spirit brings it to our attention as He did with me in this study.

Mind (n)- 1.(in a human or other conscious being) the element, part, substance, or process that reasons, thinks, feels, wills, perceives, judges, etc.: the processes of the human mind. 2. Psychology. the totality of conscious and unconscious mental processes and activities.

We may even go so far as to describe the mind as being the eyes of our heart. It is through the mind that God communicates with us. In Isaiah 1:18 God says “Come now, and let us reason together, saith the Lord: though your sins be as scarlet, they shall be as white as snow; though they be red like crimson, they shall be as wool.”  We also know from experience that the mind communicates with the heart. But, not always does the mind and heart agree. There is often a manifestation of conflict between the two, which is why we often lose the battle with the flesh. In reading verses 14-25, we discover the truth of the matter concerning the law of the mind. Yet, in Christ the flesh is defeated. I think I heard this once in a sermon of Adrian Rogers, “Already the power of sin has been broken, but freedom from its presence is not yet come. Wait and stand faithfully in the Lord for the war with sin will be won.” The already and the yet…praise the Lord, the day will come where we shall no longer war with the law of the mind. Yes, Lord!

mind-lostWe as Believers need to be conscientious in remembering with our mind that sin is ALWAYS crouching at our door and the desire to please God is the image of who we really are in Christ Jesus.  Amen. Stating that reminded me of the time my child was battling leukemia. On his good days( a rarity), when scheduled for after chemo check-ups, he would be nice to the certain nurses. There was one nurse in particular that he gave the nick name “least expected”. I asked him one time why did he call her that. He told me that she was never expecting him to be in a good mood after chemo, so he decided he would play tricks on her. Unbeknownst to him, I’m sure she just played along because he had leukemia. I think I said that to say this, the mind does play tricks on us when we least expect it to. This too is sort of a way to understand how the law of the mind works. I pray that made sense to you.

However, the conclusion of the matter is this, “For my thoughts are not your thoughts, neither are your ways my ways, saith the Lord. For as the heavens are higher than the earth, so are my ways higher than your ways, and my thoughts than your thoughts. (Isaiah 55:8-9) This is probably why God asks of us to “reason together”, for He is a merciful and mindful God. Yet!

Thank you for reading and sharing your thoughts.

6 comments on “My Journey through Romans 7

  1. This is truly an awesome study you have put forth here, and I am in complete agreement on your thoughts of the mind and its functionality. In the book of Philippians 2:5, Paul teaches us a great lesson to help keep us grounded day by day when we can understand the words he speaks so clearly when he says, “Let this mind be in you that is also in Christ Jesus.” Then in Romans 12:2, he says, “be transformed by the renewing of our minds. He lets us know that the process works well when we lift our thoughts into a higher rim and allow the Holy Spirit to guide our hearts and renew our minds day by day; replenishing our energy, cleaning out the garbage that has accumulated there over time, and bringing us joy and peace in the mind that is unsurpassed by nothing on this earth. Thank you for sharing your study and journey through this great book.

    Liked by 1 person

  2. Thanks a million for sharing your journey through Romans, my friend. I applaud you for making SIN the focal point of this post. Some of us are too self-righteous to admit that we sin every day. There is no getting around it. Because everywhere we turn there is an opportunity to sin. It crouches at every turn, as you have rightly said. Indeed, the mind is a great asset, but it can also be our worst enemies.

    Thanks again

    Liked by 1 person

Comments are closed.